Agnes of Iowa | Lorrie Moore | Granta Magazine

Agnes of Iowa

Lorrie Moore

‘Her mother had given her the name Agnes, believing that a good-looking woman was even more striking when her name was a homely one.’

Lorrie Moore

Lorrie Moore was born in Glen Falls, New York, in 1957 and graduated from St Lawrence and Cornell universities. She has published three collections of short stories, Self-Help (1985), Like Life (1990), Birds of America (1998), and a novel in short stories, Anagrams (1986), which were later published as one volume: The Collected Stories (2008). She is also the author of the novels Who Will Run the Frog Hospital? (1994) and A Gate in the Stairs (2009). She recently published her latest collection of short stories, Bark (2014). Her stories have also appeared in the New Yorker and Best American Short Stories. In 1996 she was selected as one of Granta's Best Young American Novelists. She has received fellowships from several foundations and currently teaches at Vanderbilt University as the Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English.

More about the author →