The Ivory Acrobat | Don DeLillo | Granta Magazine

The Ivory Acrobat

Don DeLillo

‘She lay in a kind of timeless drift, a mindwork spiral, carried on half-formed thoughts. She passed into a false sleep and then was listening again. She opened her eyes.’

Don DeLillo

Don DeLillo’s novels include White Noise (1985) which won the National Book Award in 1985, Mao II (1991) which won the PEN/Faulkner Award in 1992, Libra (1988) which won the Irish Times International Fiction Prize, Underworld (1997), The Body Artist (2001) and most recently Point Omega (2010). In 1999, DeLillo was awarded the Jerusalem Prize and in 2009 he received The Common Wealth Award of Distinguished Service for achievements in literature.

More about the author →